Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Review: Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Summary/Cover Image from Author's Website:
What girl doesn’t want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn’t just surrounded by hot guys, though—she leads them as the captain and quarterback on her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys, and that’s just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university. But now there’s a new guy in town who threatens her starring position on the team…and has her suddenly wishing to be seen as more than just a teammate.
Review:

Catching Jordan has been on my wishlist for what seems like years now, but in reality, it's probably been barley a year since I first heard about it. Regardless of that, from the moment I first heard about this book, I had a strong feeling I would enjoy it, even though I wasn't a fan of football. As it turns out, my prediction was straight on!

There are so many things that I ADORED about this book. The characters, the writing, the romance, even the football in some ways...

However, I have to say the thing that made Catching Jordan superb in my eyes was, without a doubt, the characters! Funny, diverse, and just all around interesting people, I loved nearly every one of them, even the ones that weren't always the nicest. My favorite, though, would have to be Jordan, the main character! Now if that girl didn't totally show girl power to the fullest, I don't know who does. Jordan was strong and funny, but don't let that make you think she's perfect because she's wasn't. She sometimes thought the best in people in who don't deserve; she sometimes got a little too over her head with certain things. However, all of these "flaws" are what made her 100% likable, in my opinion, because it showed that she was realistic rather than perfect. Another favorite character of mine would have to be Sam Henry! Oh, how that boy made my heart swoon! :) Seriously, though, Henry has to be one of the sweetest boys I've come across in a YA book, and while he sometimes ended up on a different path than he should have been on (as did Jordan), he still ended up getting right back on the correct one in the end. I also adored the wide variety of other characters Miranda introduced in this one. From Jordan's family to her teammates to the cheerleaders everyone was fully developed to say the least!

I have to admit that after reading the summary for this one I thought I had the whole book figured out. However, that wasn't the case at all. Instead, I was constantly surprised with how everything turned out from who Jordan ended up with to who was actually the "good guy" in the end, I don't think there was an exact area where my predication was dead on, which made me love Catching Jordan all the more! One of the plot areas I loved the most was Jordan's football career. Reminiscent of the Dairy Queen trilogy, it was always interesting to see how female football players are perceived in the sport to how much or little opportunity they receive I also really enjoyed the romance part of this one as well, because not only did it allow Jordan to grow and bloom as a character, but it also created lots of tension as well as twists and turns, all of which are things I live for in books! I really enjoyed the character of Ty, especially given all the things that came out of the woodwork with his arrival.

Lastly, I adored Miranda Kenneally's writing in this one! She made the characters in this one jump of the page and come to life completely, and oh my gosh, the ending she dealt was perfect! It was everything I had hoped and wanted it to be, and I wasn't even that mad she kept me on my toes for a little while there....

In all, Catching Jordan is a one of a kind read! Perfect for fans of Simone Elkels and Jennifer Echols, Catching Jordan is sure to amass a whole team of fans for Miranda Kenneally, ones who will eagerly be awaiting her newest book.

Grade: A+

Catching Jordan (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Goodreads) is now out! You can read an excerpt here.

Source: Publisher via Netgalley

5 comments:

  1. Great to read you enjoyed this one. I want to read it also, it sounds fun. Awesome review :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've already read a couple glowing reviews for Catching Jordan and its already on my to read list. Can't wait to actually get to it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've been wanting to read this since I first heard about it. It sounds amazing. Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh my goodness! I just picked up a copy of this one and I am shaking with anticipation!!!! I'm going to start reading it ASAP!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review! I really liked most of the characters and how the romance plot-line ended, because it was surprising and satisfying! I had trouble with other aspects of the book, but Sam Henry is quite the love interest :)
    - Alyssa of Redhead Heroines
    Book Review of "Catching Jordan" by Miranda Kenneally

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...