18.1.18

Review: Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh


Synopsis/Cover Image from Publisher's Website:
Without the dead, she’d be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their soul from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised: the Dead must remain shrouded. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, a grotesque transformation begins, turning the Dead into terrifying, bloodthirsty Shades.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears around the kingdom. Soon, a crushing loss of one of her closest companions leaves Odessa shattered, and reveals a disturbing conspiracy in Karthia: Someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is forced to contemplate a terrifying question: What if her magic is the weapon that brings the kingdom to its knees?

Fighting alongside her fellow mages–and a powerful girl as enthralling as she is infuriating–Odessa must untangle the gruesome plot to destroy Karthia before the Shades take everything she loves.

Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen, Reign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.
Review:

Sarah Glenn Marsh's Reign of the Fallen has to be one of the most talked about releases of 2018. The more I heard the larger my expectations became, and I couldn't wait to dive in and see what all the hype was about. 

As it turns out Reign of the Fallen deserves all the buzz and hype it has obtained because this book is GOOD! The premise was fresh and exciting; the characters were lovable; and the action, deceit, and sabotage made this book unputdownable. 

Reign of the Fallen introduces a large cast of characters. At first I was worried that it would be hard to keep track of everyone; however, Sarah does a fantastic job of making each not only well developed but also memorable. Odessa, the lead, was my favorite. She was confident and had a sass to her step that made it easy to respect and admire her. Shortly into the book, however, Odessa experiences a loss that makes her question each and every aspect of her life. Suddenly, she's wondering if her job is worth it and if she'll ever be happy again...Her downfall broke my heart; however, I think Sarah Glenn Marsh did a great job of making authentic as well as believable. As the saying goes: sometimes you have to hit rock bottom to be whole again... 

In addition to Odessa, I enjoyed reading about her friends. Valoria, the princess, was nothing like what I had expected. I thought she would be docile; however, she was anything but that! She was smart, caring, and sassy. I enjoyed hearing about her inventions, but I loved reading about her friendship with Odessa even more! Evander, Odessa's longterm boyfriend, warmed my heart from the start. He was slightly arrogant but he kept me laughing. Simeon and Jax, the other two necromancers, were a dynamic duo. Their little spats were hilarious, and I loved how their personalities were so different! Meredy, Evander's sister, was a surprise, and at first I didn't like her. She seemed hostile and even a tad foolish; however, as the story continued, I started to like her more and more. 

The premise is what originally drew me, and I thought the execution was well done. Anything involving necromancers is always an instant sell for me, and I loved seeing Sarah develop their role within Karthia. At first, they seem to have a straightforward job - bring the dead back to life; however, there's much more to it than that. There's politics, drama, and risk involvedand as the story continued a sabotage related mystery appeared. The mystery kept me on my toes, and while I was able to predict some of it, some aspects still managed to surprise me. Additionally, the royals brought an interesting dynamic to the book. They rule with no change - they think everything is great the way it is. At first, I thought Karthia was the perfect. I mean, a land where death isn't forever and parties are a constant thing? That sounded great, but nothing can be perfect...

There was one aspect, however, that brought Reign of the Fallen down a starpacing. In the beginning, Reign of the Fallen moves at rapid speed; however, as I approached the middle everything started to slow down. I wanted more action and more excitement - the spark that the first part had. 

In all, Reign of the Fallen is an exciting new addition to YA fantasy. While I enjoyed the ending Reign of The Fallen provided, I look forward to seeing what the next book brings. 


4 stars!! 

Reign of the Fallen will be released Tuesday, January 23, 2018!

Source: eARC provided by publisher



Buy Links: 

Amazon | BN |  Kobo | Indiebound  

Author Links: 


Release Day Blitz: Thrive by Aly Martinez



Today I'm helping spread the word about Aly Martinez's latest book Thrive (out today!). Thrive is the second book in the Guardian Protection series and it can be read as a complete standalone.



Thrive by Aly Martinez (Guardian Protection, #2) 

Purchase the ebook on Amazon (Kindle Unlimited)
Purchase the Audiobook | Purchase the Paperback

Synopsis:
Technically, you aren’t supposed to fall in love with your best friend’s girl.

When I was nineteen years old, I was faced with a choice that changed my life.

Keep the safety of what I already knew or risk losing everything with the young, hotheaded soldier who stole my heart.

I chose the wrong man, and for seventeen years, I paid in tears, blood, and shattered dreams for that decision.

Now, there’s a man in my house, holding a gun to my head on the order of my ex-husband—given from his prison cell.

That hotheaded soldier I was too afraid to choose? He’s now a six-foot-three wall of muscle who works at the country’s most premier bodyguard agency. I’ve always wanted him, but now, I’ve never needed him more.

It’s the call I’m terrified to make.

I’m sure he still hates me… Even though I’ve never stopped loving him.





----------------------------

The previous book in the Guardian Protection Series: 



SINGE is the first book in the Guardian Protection Series and is FREE in KindleUnlimited


---------------------

AUTHOR INFORMATION:


Originally from Savannah, Georgia, USA Today bestselling author Aly Martinez now lives in South Carolina with her four young children. Never one to take herself too seriously, she enjoys cheap wine, mystery leggings, and baked feta. It should be known, however, that she hates pizza and ice cream, almost as much as writing her bio in the third person. She passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a super-sized tumbler of wine by her side.
AUTHOR LINKS:


InkSlinger-Blogger banner-New

17.1.18

Waiting on Wednesday (166)


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.


The Ever After by Sarah Pekkanen  
(June 5, 2018!) 


In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally bestselling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (GlamourThe Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course—and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy…at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy—she’s lucky.

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call—and sees nine words that shatter her world.

Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last forever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret.

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post) bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis—and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.
Since The Wife Between Us (Sarah's book with Greer Hendricks) was released in January I wasn't expecting another book from her this year. So I was beyond excited when I stumbled upon this on Goodreads. Sarah is one of my favorite contemporary writers (if you haven't read Skipping a Beat yet you're missing out big time!), and I can't wait to see how she explores life and marriage in this book. 

Find out More about the Author:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Design by Imagination Designs
Artwork by www.CreateTheCut.com