Monday, August 5, 2013

Review: Take Me Now by Faith Sullivan

Summary/Cover Image from Author's Website:
How do you survive the internship from hell?

Don't fall in love.

Ivy thought being a reporter-in-training at the Independent Gazette would be her dream summer job. Little did she know, interviewing Eric, a landscaper with a heart of gold, would derail her plans. It turns out Ivy's boss, Lauren, has been eying his chiseled physique for quite some time.

But at twenty-four, Eric already has a tragic past, one that he is still reeling from. Even though his ordeal turned him into some sort of local celebrity, it's been a while since he's shared his bed with anyone. When he comes to Ivy's rescue out of the blue, it's not long before the two of them start seeing each other behind Lauren's back. When they get caught, Ivy's journey toward a college degree is jeopardized and her relationship with Eric is severely put to the test.

Career versus love? In the end, a shocking turn of events provides Ivy with a revelation she never saw coming.
Review:

In the past year, Faith has released four books, and her newest release Take Me Now has supported a thought I've had: with each book, her writing and storytelling becomes even better. Sexy and compelling, Take Me Now proved to be a great lazy day read, and more importantly, an excellent start to a new trilogy.

Take Me Now begins the story of Ivy and Eric, two young twenty-somethings in very different stages of life. Ivy, the younger of the two, is eager to start her internship at the Independent Gazette. It's the start to bigger and better things in her life such as moving to her college's main campus in the fall. However, with the introduction of the evil and manipulating Lauren, Ivy's boss, Ivy realizes that it's going to be one long summer. Eric, on the other hand, is still putting back the pieces after a tragic death rocked his world, but with his garden center business back in full string, he seems to be finally moving on. Everything changes for both of them, though, when Ivy's latest assignment throws them together....

One of the aspects I enjoyed the most about this book was the small town setting. Faith always seems to include one in every one of her books in some shape or form, and that was just the case with this one. The town Eric and Ivy lived in was quaint and tiny, perfect for drama and lies to develop in a heartbeat, which made the tension and twists in this book even better. However, what I loved most about the small town setting, though, was reading Faith's different descriptions of the town, especially Eric's business and house. It added a cute vibe to the story, one that I feel the story wouldn't be the same without.

Moving on, I also liked the characters in this one quite a bit as well. Ivy was a little naive at times, but she had a pretty pure heart. I loved seeing how far she'd go to help Eric as well as seeing how dedicated she was to her job at the same time. It caused some inner conflict at times when she seemed to have to pick between the two, but it made her character and situation all the more relatable, in my opinion. Eric was sweet and swoon worthy, and I enjoyed getting to know more about him through his POVs. My favorite trait of his was that he was an honest, trustworthy guy. He got himself in some bad situations at times, but he always did his best to fix everything. Lauren, the evil "queen" so to say, in this was a blast! I couldn't believe half the stuff she did throughout the novel....she always seemed to have a new trick up her sleeve, ready to deploy, and while I hated her for all the horrible stuff she threw Eric and Ivy's ways, I also loved seeing where she'd take everything next. It allowed for some pretty great twists and turns.

The plot in this was the standard "will they or won't they?" but as with Faith's books, I was never really sure if the characters were going to achieve their happy ending, especially with the addition of such a manipulating antagonist like Lauren. However, this all allowed for me to be hooked to the story, as I waited to see how everything would unfold.

Lastly, I enjoyed Faith's writing in this. I thought she did an excellent job of switching between Ivy and Eric's viewpoints as well as making sure they sounded different and realistic. Plus, I enjoyed the little surprise she threw in at the ending. It's made me even more excited to see what will happen next!

Enthralling and suspenseful, Take Me Now is yet another great book by Faith Sullivan, one that's perfect for fans of Jessica Sorensen and Abbi Glines.

Grade: B+

Take Me Now (Amazon, Goodreads) is now out!

Source: eBook provided by author for review 

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...