Review & Giveaway: The Final Six by Alexandra Monir

The Final Six by Alexandra Monir
Release Date: March 6, 2018
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
Source: ARC provided by the publisher & publicist via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review
Add to Goodreads!
Amazon | BN | Indiebound | Kobo
Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel—already optioned by Sony Pictures—will take readers out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter’s moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian.

When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with twenty-two of the world’s brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa—Jupiter’s moon—and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders.

For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts onboard. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa’s surface.

In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo’s relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter.

But it’s only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.


A few years back I read Alexandra Monir's Timeless series and fell in love with the world she created. So it's no surprise that I loved The Final Six, the first book in Alexandra's new series. Combining secrets, life-and-death stakes, and romance, The Final Six is an enthralling journey from start to finish.

The setting and world building were two of the most fascinating parts. I appreciated the level of detail Alexandra put into describing the storms, the challenges the world faced because of them, and the training camp. The setting was eye-opening, chilling, and even a tad stomach churning, because while our climate change isn't nearly this bad yet, it could very well be this bad in the coming years. Honestly, books like these should be a wake-up call.

The Final Six introduces Leo and Naomi, two teenagers from opposite sides of the world brought together by the International Space Training Camp. Leo and Naomi are strong, tactful, and passionate. I found them likable as well as relatable. I also liked that they both had such different feelings towards the training camp and the possibility of being part of the final six.

From the start, Leo wants to be picked. He views it as his second chance, and the thought of not being picked, of being forced to return to his country, makes him even more determined to come out on top. I admired his ambition and positivity. I also loved that while he wanted to win, he didn't distance himself from his teammates. His friendship with his roommate was one of my favorite parts of the book.

Naomi, on the other hand, views being chosen as a death sentence. She doesn't want to be torn away from her family. She also doesn't like the risks the camp is willing to take to make this new planet home. Something doesn't feel right to her, and she's determined to find out the whole story. I'll admit that Naomi's constant stirring of the pot got on my nerves; however, I also could understand why she was so desperate to find out answers, to challenge everything. I'd probably be the same way in her situation, and I did give her props: the girl had some major guts.

The Final Six mostly focuses on setting up the world as well as the training and final selection for the mission. Everything starts of a little slow, because Alexandra does spend a decent amount of time setting up everything, but it never felt boring or nonessential. The training camp provided so many thrills and chills. I loved all the science parts, and I also liked the different authority figures presented. Some of their actions were so incredibly shady, and I was constantly questing their motives.

The only aspect that I didn't outright love was the ending. It felt somewhat rushed and I didn't like how perfectly everything aligned. Don't get me wrong, I was happy with the outcome, but it just didn't seem "realistic."

Regardless, The Final Six is an enjoyable series opener, and given the emphasis on climate change, it's also a timely book.

4 stars!! 


Thanks to MB Communications I have one copy of The Final Six and some swag to giveaway! 

US Only! 

Fill out the form to enter! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I havne’t seen this before, but I am sure liking the sounds of the world building and the characters. It sounds completely fascinating!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

  2. I've been coming across so many books lately that are about space and colonization of other planets. I'm with Naomi - it kind of sounds like something a little sinister is going on, and I want to know what it is!

  3. I'm excited for this one. I love the cover and the premise for this book.


I love comments so never be afraid to leave one!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Design by Imagination Designs
Artwork by www.CreateTheCut.com